Estimating software for contractors

What good estimating software does for a contractor: a price from your own list, options the customer can choose between, signing and the deposit on one page, and the follow-up. Koira, JobTread, QuoteIQ and Houzz Pro compared.

7 min readPrices checked October 9, 2026
An estimate being worked out at a desk
Key takeaways
  • Prices from your own list, never made up, up to three options on one estimate, and photos and plain descriptions on each option matter most.
  • Koira covers it with no per-person fee: estimates (Office (free)); options on one estimate (Office, up to three); e-signatures (Office (free)).
  • Prices and card rates for JobTread, QuoteIQ, Houzz Pro are from each company's own pages.

What estimating software does

An estimate is the moment a lead becomes a job or does not. The contractor who sends a clear price first, with a choice, and makes it easy to say yes on the spot, wins more of the bids that were close.

Estimating software for a small contractor is less about takeoffs from plans and more about speed and the close: a price from your own list, three options instead of one, a signature and a deposit together, and someone checking in while the customer thinks.

What to look for

  • Prices from your own list, never made up
  • Up to three options on one estimate
  • Photos and plain descriptions on each option
  • Signature and deposit on the same page
  • A first number from a measurement
  • An instant price on your website
  • Follow-ups that stop when they sign
  • Pay over time on the bigger option

How Koira does it

On Koira's free Office plan, an estimate carries up to three options, good, better and best, built from your price list, each with a photo and a plain description. The customer opens it on their phone, picks one, signs with a finger and pays your deposit on the same page. Koira can also draft the estimate from a few photos of the job, priced only from your list.

Roofs, lawns and driveways can be measured from satellite images for a first number, and a Get a price button on your site answers from your list day or night. On Grow, Koira nudges every open estimate on day two and day four, then stops, and shows you who opened it.

Where Koira is lighterKoira does not do takeoffs from blueprints, assemblies or job costing. It estimates from your own price list, a satellite measure or photos, which fits service and residential work better than new construction.

Side by side

Where each feature first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets. It is not a full feature list for anyone, including us.

What you needKoiraJobTreadQuoteIQHouzz Pro
EstimatesOffice (free)Included (estimating)EssentialsFree (estimates)
Options on one estimateOffice, up to threeNot listedEssentials (options estimates)Not listed
E-signaturesOffice (free)Included (contracts and e-signatures)BeginnerPro (contracts)
Deposits at signingOffice, at signingNot listedEssentials (partial payments)Not listed
Price bookOffice (your price list)Included (cost catalog)Essentials (price book)Not listed
Measuring from aboveOffice (roofs, lawns, driveways)Not listedBeginner (MapMeasure Pro)Not listed
Instant price on your siteOffice (free)Not listedElite (InstaQuote)Not listed
Automatic estimate follow-upsGrow, on day two and day four, then it stopsNot listedPro (email and text automation)Not listed
Customer financingOn the pay page, every planIncluded (homeowner financing)Essentials (via Stripe or Whop)Homeowner financing in its menu, not on a plan card
People, usage and card fees
Extra peopleNo per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price$20 a month each (users 2 to 10), $15 (11 to 20), $10 (21 to 30), $5 after$25 a month each$50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited
Usage or creditsNone on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front OfficeNone on the pricing page500 to 8,000 IQ Credits a month by plan, extra credits billed separately3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415)
Card payments2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira)2.95% + 30¢ a card, ACH $1 plus 1% (capped at $15)Not published; Stripe's processing plus a QuoteIQ platform feeNot published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page
Add-onsNone; postcards are a flat price per cardNone; the page says every feature is includedAI Website Builder below Max, extra IQ Credits and storage, priced separatelyAdvertising package from $499 a month

From JobTread pricing and Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026; QuoteIQ pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.

What each one costs

Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons. Koira has no per-person fee on any plan, and Office costs nothing a month.

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyPeople includedUsage or credits
Koira
Office$0, freeMonthly, no contractOne or fifteen, the same priceNone charged on Office
Grow$249 a monthMonthly, no contractOne or fifteen, the same priceTexts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added
Front Office$499 a month, flatMonthly, no contractOne or fifteen, the same priceIncluded in the $499
JobTread
One plan$199 a month20% off billed yearly1 internal user, unlimited customer and vendor portal usersNone on the pricing page
QuoteIQ
Essentials$29.99 a monthTwo months free, paid up front1 user500 IQ Credits a month, extra credits billed separately
Beginner$99.99 a monthTwo months free, paid up front2 users1,500 IQ Credits a month, extra credits billed separately
Pro$199.99 a monthTwo months free, paid up front4 users3,000 IQ Credits a month, extra credits billed separately
Elite$299.99 a monthTwo months free, paid up front10 users5,000 IQ Credits a month, extra credits billed separately
Max$699.99 a monthTwo months free, paid up front20 users8,000 IQ Credits a month, extra credits billed separately
Houzz Pro
Free$0Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearlyNot statedNot stated
Design$99 a monthIts FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly1 user3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415)
Pro$199 a monthIts FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly1 user3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415)
TeamsFrom $399 a monthIts FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearlyUnlimited users3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415)

What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons

CompanyEach extra personCard paymentsAdd-ons
KoiraNo per-person fee on any plan2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly feeNone; postcards are a flat price per card
JobTread$20 a month each (users 2 to 10), $15 (11 to 20), $10 (21 to 30), $5 after2.95% + 30¢ a card, ACH $1 plus 1% (capped at $15)None; the page says every feature is included
QuoteIQ$25 a month eachNot published; Stripe's processing plus a QuoteIQ platform feeAI Website Builder below Max, extra IQ Credits and storage, priced separately
Houzz Pro$50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimitedNot published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing pageAdvertising package from $499 a month

From JobTread pricing and Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026; QuoteIQ pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.

Card rates as each company publishes them (also JobTread online payments, QuoteIQ online payments), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.

How to choose

If you bid from plans, you need takeoff software. If you bid from a driveway, the faster close matters more: options, signing with a deposit and follow-ups. Count how many of last month's estimates were never answered; that number tells you which part to fix.

Koira's plans and prices are on one page, and Office is free with no time limit.

Sources, each checked October 9, 2026: JobTread pricing, JobTread online payments, QuoteIQ pricing (checked October 8, 2026), QuoteIQ online payments, QuoteIQ industries (checked October 8, 2026), Houzz Pro pricing, Stripe pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.

FAQ

What is the best estimating software for small contractors?

One that prices from your own list, offers options, and takes the signature and deposit on one page. Koira does that on the free Office plan.

Can Koira measure a job for an estimate?

Yes, for roofs, lawns and driveways, from satellite images. It is good for a first number; you confirm on site before the final estimate.

Does Koira do takeoffs from plans?

No. Koira estimates from your price list, a satellite measure or photos of the job.

What does Koira charge on card payments?

Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card, plus Koira's share: 2% on Office, 1% on Grow and 0.5% on Front Office. The tables above show each company's own published rate next to it.

We know what works. Leave it to Koira.

☼⚙
Standard⚡ Turbo
● Koira did it● You by hand
Today $9,300$8,100 / $1,200
This week $25,050$18,570 / $6,480
This month $69,300$46,150 / $23,150
Money, just now
Reminded Sean Love, $1,850. Polite reminder with the pay link.
Bids, 9:44 am
Nudged Dana on the kitchen bid. Day 3 follow up. She opened it at 9:12.
Convos, 9:41 am
Texted back a missed call. Walk through booked Thu 10:00.
Estimating software for contractors: options, signing, deposits (2026) | Koira