- Price the same rooms three ways; most customers pick the middle option when they can see all three.
- The core of painting estimating is on Koira's Grow plan, $249 a month plus usage, with no per-person fee.
- Card rates for Jobber, Housecall Pro and Houzz Pro are from each company's own pages, next to Koira's.
How a painting company estimates
A painting estimate is measured in square feet, coats and prep. Interior work is by the room or the wall area; exterior work by the siding, the trim and how much scraping it needs.
Options are the painter's best tool: walls only, walls and trim, or walls, trim and ceilings, each priced from the same measurements.
What goes on a painting estimate
- Walls by the room or square foot
- Ceilings
- Trim, doors and baseboards
- Cabinet painting by door
- Exterior siding by area
- Scraping, priming and caulking
- Deck or fence stain
- Paint and materials
What estimating software should do for painters
- Prices from your own list, never made up
- Options side by side on one estimate
- Signature and deposit on the same page
- Follow-ups that stop when they sign
- Customer financing, which matters for painters
How Koira does it
In Koira, every line on a painting estimate comes from your own price list, from walls by the room or square foot to paint and materials. An estimate carries up to three options, the customer signs with a finger and pays your deposit on the same page, all on Office, the free plan. Koira can also draft the estimate from a few photos of the job, and never writes a number that is not in your records.
On Grow, $249 a month plus usage at cost, every open estimate is nudged on day two and day four, then the nudges stop. You see who opened it.
For painters in particular
- Estimates. Snap the rooms and Koira drafts the estimate from your price list. You confirm the numbers before it goes.
- Options on one estimate. Koira sends good, better and best from your price list, and it can draft the estimate from your photos.
Side by side
The features that matter for painting estimating, where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets.
| What you need | Koira | Jobber | Housecall Pro | Houzz Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Estimates | Office (free) | Core | Basic | Free (estimates) |
| Options on one estimate | Office, up to three | Grow (optional line items) | Max (sales proposal tool) | Not listed |
| E-signatures | Office (free) | Core (signature approvals) | Not listed | Pro (contracts) |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Price book | Office (your price list) | Not listed | Basic (price book), Essentials (flat-rate pricing) | Not listed |
| Automatic estimate follow-ups | Grow, on day two and day four, then it stops | Connect | Pipeline, listed as a separate product | Not listed |
| Customer financing | On the pay page, every plan | Not listed | Basic (consumer financing) | Homeowner financing in its menu, not on a plan card |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | $29 a month each | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None on the pricing page | None on the pricing page | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Jobber pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026; Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Jobber | ||||
| Core | $49 a month | $29 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Connect | $139 a month for 1 user, $199 for 5 | $99 a month for 1 user, $149 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Grow | $199 a month for 1 user, $299 for 5 | $149 a month for 1 user, $229 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Plus | $499 a month for 5 users | $399 a month for 5 users, billed yearly | 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Housecall Pro | ||||
| Basic | $79 a month | $59 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Essentials | $189 a month | $149 a month billed yearly | 5 users | None on the pricing page |
| Max | $329 a month | $299 a month billed yearly | 8 users | None on the pricing page |
| Houzz Pro | ||||
| Free | $0 | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Not stated | Not stated |
| Design | $99 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Pro | $199 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Teams | From $399 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Unlimited users | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Jobber | $29 a month each | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) |
| Housecall Pro | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed |
| Houzz Pro | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Jobber pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026; Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them, checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Jobber pricing, Jobber industries, Housecall Pro pricing, Housecall Pro industries, Houzz Pro pricing (checked October 9, 2026), Stripe pricing (checked October 9, 2026), and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
