- Collect the final at the walk-through; the moment the tape comes off is the moment to get paid.
- The core of painting invoicing is on Koira's Grow plan, $249 a month plus usage, with no per-person fee.
- Card rates for Jobber, Housecall Pro and Houzz Pro are from each company's own pages, next to Koira's.
How a painting company gets paid
Painting billing is a deposit at signing, sometimes a midpoint on long jobs, and the final at the walk-through. The deposit covers paint; the final is paid best while the customer is admiring the work.
Change orders matter too: an extra room or a color change mid-job should be priced and approved before it is painted.
What goes on a painting invoice
- Deposit at signing
- Midpoint on long jobs
- Final at the walk-through
- Added room as a change
- Paint and materials
- Wood repair found during prep
- Cabinet job deposit
- Pay over time on a whole-house exterior
What invoicing software should do for painters
- The invoice built from the signed estimate
- Paid at the door by card or phone wallet
- Deposits and staged invoices
- The card rate published, on both sides
- Customer financing, which matters for painters
How Koira does it
In Koira, a painting invoice is built from the signed estimate and your price list, deposit at signing and all, and goes out when you tap done. It opens as a QR code at the door, so the customer pays by card, Apple Pay, Google Pay or pay over time through Affirm or Klarna. Deposits are paid at signing and bigger jobs bill in stages. That is on Office, the free plan.
On Grow, invoices, payments and deposits post to QuickBooks Online as they happen.
Side by side
The features that matter for painting invoicing, where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets.
| What you need | Koira | Jobber | Housecall Pro | Houzz Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Invoices and online payments | Office (free) | Core | Basic | Free (invoicing), online payments on Design |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Paid on the spot | Office, QR code at the door, 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 0.5% to 2% (Koira) a payment | Core, 2.7% + 30¢ a payment | Tap to Pay, listed as a separate product | Not listed |
| Invoices in stages | Deposit, midpoint and final invoices | Core (progress invoicing) | Not listed | Not listed |
| QuickBooks Online sync | Grow | Connect (QuickBooks Online and Xero) | Essentials | QuickBooks Online listed, plan not clear |
| Customer financing | On the pay page, every plan | Not listed | Basic (consumer financing) | Homeowner financing in its menu, not on a plan card |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | $29 a month each | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None on the pricing page | None on the pricing page | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Jobber pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026; Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Jobber | ||||
| Core | $49 a month | $29 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Connect | $139 a month for 1 user, $199 for 5 | $99 a month for 1 user, $149 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Grow | $199 a month for 1 user, $299 for 5 | $149 a month for 1 user, $229 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Plus | $499 a month for 5 users | $399 a month for 5 users, billed yearly | 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Housecall Pro | ||||
| Basic | $79 a month | $59 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Essentials | $189 a month | $149 a month billed yearly | 5 users | None on the pricing page |
| Max | $329 a month | $299 a month billed yearly | 8 users | None on the pricing page |
| Houzz Pro | ||||
| Free | $0 | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Not stated | Not stated |
| Design | $99 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Pro | $199 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Teams | From $399 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Unlimited users | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Jobber | $29 a month each | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) |
| Housecall Pro | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed |
| Houzz Pro | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Jobber pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026; Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them, checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Jobber pricing, Jobber industries, Housecall Pro pricing, Housecall Pro industries, Houzz Pro pricing (checked October 9, 2026), Stripe pricing (checked October 9, 2026), and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
