- Bill the season monthly on a card; even payments in a short season beat chasing per-cut invoices.
- The core of lawn care invoicing is on Koira's Grow plan, $249 a month plus usage, with no per-person fee.
- Card rates for Yardbook, Service Autopilot and Markate are from each company's own pages, next to Koira's.
How a lawn care company gets paid
Lawn care billing is small and frequent: a mowing charge every week or a flat monthly amount for the season. Treatments and extras add separate lines.
A card on file billed monthly is the simplest setup, and the one that keeps the owner off the laptop on Sunday nights.
What goes on a lawn care invoice
- Monthly season charge
- Per-cut charge
- Treatment by application
- Aeration and overseed
- Cleanup charge
- Leaf removal by visit
- Prepay discount for the season
- Card on file for all of it
What invoicing software should do for lawn care companies
- The invoice built from the signed estimate
- Paid at the door by card or phone wallet
- Deposits and staged invoices
- The card rate published, on both sides
- Recurring service plans, which matters for lawn care companies
How Koira does it
In Koira, a lawn care invoice is built from the signed estimate and your price list, monthly season charge and all, and goes out when you tap done. It opens as a QR code at the door, so the customer pays by card, Apple Pay, Google Pay or pay over time through Affirm or Klarna. Deposits are paid at signing and bigger jobs bill in stages. That is on Office, the free plan.
On Grow, invoices, payments and deposits post to QuickBooks Online as they happen.
Side by side
The features that matter for lawn care invoicing, where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets.
| What you need | Koira | Yardbook | Service Autopilot | Markate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Invoices and online payments | Office (free) | Free | Startup (integrated payments) | Listed (Square payments) |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Paid on the spot | Office, QR code at the door, 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 0.5% to 2% (Koira) a payment | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Invoices in stages | Deposit, midpoint and final invoices | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| QuickBooks Online sync | Grow | Not listed | Elite, or an add-on on request | Listed (QuickBooks Online) |
| Recurring service plans | Front Office | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not published | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | $5 a month per employee |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None stated | None on the pricing page | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Not published on its pricing page | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Yardbook | ||||
| Free | $0 | $0 | Not stated | None stated |
| Business and Enterprise | Not published | Not published | Not stated | None stated |
| Service Autopilot | ||||
| Startup | $49 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 1 mobile license | None on the pricing page |
| Pro | $199 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 2 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Pro Plus | $499 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 5 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Elite | Priced on request | Priced on request | 2 business users, 8 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Markate | ||||
| Owner Operator | $49.95 a month | $45.95 a month ($551.40 a year) | The owner | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Team | $49.95 plus $5 a month per employee | $45.95 plus $5 a month per employee | The owner plus employees | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Yardbook | Not published | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published |
| Service Autopilot | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | Not published on its pricing page | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing |
| Markate | $5 a month per employee | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them (also Yardbook terms), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
Sources, each checked October 9, 2026: Yardbook, Yardbook terms, Service Autopilot pricing, Markate pricing, Stripe pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
