- Quote the season program as a monthly number; it is easier to say yes to than a list of visits.
- The core of lawn care estimating is on Koira's Grow plan, $249 a month plus usage, with no per-person fee.
- Card rates for Yardbook, Service Autopilot and Markate are from each company's own pages, next to Koira's.
How a lawn care company estimates
Lawn care is priced by the lot. Mowing by the square foot of turf, treatments by the application, and the season's extras by the job. Most estimates can be given without leaving the truck.
The bigger estimate is the season: a program of mowing, fertilizer and weed control, aeration and cleanups, quoted as one price per visit or per month.
What goes on a lawn care estimate
- Mowing by turf area
- Edging and blowing
- Fertilizer and weed control by application
- Aeration and overseeding
- Spring and fall cleanups
- Leaf removal
- Grub control
- Season program per month
What estimating software should do for lawn care companies
- Prices from your own list, never made up
- Options side by side on one estimate
- Signature and deposit on the same page
- Follow-ups that stop when they sign
- Measuring from above, which matters for lawn care companies
- Instant price on your site, which matters for lawn care companies
How Koira does it
In Koira, every line on a lawn care estimate comes from your own price list, from mowing by turf area to season program per month. An estimate carries up to three options, the customer signs with a finger and pays your deposit on the same page, all on Office, the free plan. Koira can also draft the estimate from a few photos of the job, and never writes a number that is not in your records.
On Grow, $249 a month plus usage at cost, every open estimate is nudged on day two and day four, then the nudges stop. You see who opened it.
For lawn care companies in particular
- Measuring from above. Koira measures the lawn from satellite images for a first number priced from your list, on every plan.
- Instant price on your site. A Get a price button on your site answers from your own price list, day or night.
Side by side
The features that matter for lawn care estimating, where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets.
| What you need | Koira | Yardbook | Service Autopilot | Markate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Estimates | Office (free) | Not listed | Quotes and proposals listed, plan not clear | Listed (standard, option or package estimates) |
| Options on one estimate | Office, up to three | Not listed | Not listed | Listed (option or package estimates) |
| E-signatures | Office (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Price book | Office (your price list) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Automatic estimate follow-ups | Grow, on day two and day four, then it stops | Not listed | Pro Plus (automations) | Not listed |
| Measuring from above | Office (roofs, lawns, driveways) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Instant price on your site | Office (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not published | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | $5 a month per employee |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None stated | None on the pricing page | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Not published on its pricing page | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Yardbook | ||||
| Free | $0 | $0 | Not stated | None stated |
| Business and Enterprise | Not published | Not published | Not stated | None stated |
| Service Autopilot | ||||
| Startup | $49 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 1 mobile license | None on the pricing page |
| Pro | $199 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 2 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Pro Plus | $499 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 5 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Elite | Priced on request | Priced on request | 2 business users, 8 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Markate | ||||
| Owner Operator | $49.95 a month | $45.95 a month ($551.40 a year) | The owner | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Team | $49.95 plus $5 a month per employee | $45.95 plus $5 a month per employee | The owner plus employees | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Yardbook | Not published | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published |
| Service Autopilot | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | Not published on its pricing page | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing |
| Markate | $5 a month per employee | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them (also Yardbook terms), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
Sources, each checked October 9, 2026: Yardbook, Yardbook terms, Service Autopilot pricing, Markate pricing, Stripe pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
