- For a carpentry business, the features that decide the software are estimates, invoices in stages and automatic estimate follow-ups.
- Koira covers that list on Grow ($249 a month plus usage), with no per-person fee.
- 4 companies we checked name this trade on their own site: Jobber, Housecall Pro, Service Fusion and Joist.
- Prices and card rates for Jobber, Housecall Pro and Joist are from each company's own pages, checked October 8, 2026.
What a carpentry business needs from software
A carpenter prices one job at a time. Crown in three rooms, a pair of interior doors, a run of built-ins: each one is measured, figured and written up on its own, often late at night after a day on the saw.
The money side is just as uneven. A trim job is paid in a day, while a cabinet install can tie up material money for weeks. Software for a carpenter should make the estimate fast and keep cash moving on the long jobs.
- Estimates. No two trim or built-in jobs are the same, so every estimate is written from what you saw in the room.
- Invoices in stages. Cabinets and built-ins take weeks, and billing only at the end means carrying the material bill.
- Automatic estimate follow-ups. Homeowners wait on a kitchen or a closet for weeks, and a polite nudge keeps your bid alive.
- Deposits at signing. Lumber, sheet goods and cabinet boxes should be bought with the customer's deposit.
- Stops sorted by the drive. Punch-list visits and install days scatter across town, and the order you drive them decides the day.
- Review requests. Finish carpentry is judged by eye, and photos with a review sell the next job.
The jobs on a carpentry estimate
These are the lines a carpentry estimate is built from, from the price list in our free carpentry estimate template.
| Job line | Priced by | What the line says |
|---|---|---|
| Install crown molding | ft | Profile, paint or stain grade, and inside and outside corners. |
| Install baseboard | ft | Height and whether shoe molding is included. |
| Door casing, both sides | each | Per door; casing profile and head detail. |
| Hang interior door, prehung | each | Swing, size and hardware. |
| Install kitchen cabinets | ft | Linear feet of run; uppers and bases counted once. |
| Cabinet hardware | each | Pulls and knobs, drilled from a template. |
| Built-in shelving | ft | Shelf depth, material and finish. |
| Wainscoting or panel molding | sq ft | Style and height on the wall. |
| Window casing and stool | each | Per window; apron and stool style. |
| Material, paint-grade trim | ft | From your supplier with markup. |
In Koira these go on your price list once. Every estimate, instant price and invoice pulls from it, so a carpentry business never types the same line twice, and Koira never writes a number that is not in your records.
A plain checklist for carpentry software
- An estimate drafted from photos of the room
- Lines by the foot, by the piece or by the hour
- Deposit at signing for material
- Invoices in stages on cabinet jobs
- Follow-ups on bids that go quiet
- Install and punch-list days in driving order
- Builders and remodelers as customers with their own terms
- A review ask after every paid job
How Koira covers the list
Estimates. Snap the rooms and Koira drafts the estimate from your own price list, by the foot or by the piece. You fix what is off and send it, on Office, the free plan.
Invoices in stages. Deposit, midpoint and final invoices go out as you mark each stage done, so cabinets are not carried on your card.
Automatic estimate follow-ups. On Grow, Koira nudges every open estimate on day two and day four, then stops.
Deposits at signing. Your deposit rule rides on every estimate and is paid when they sign.
Stops sorted by the drive. Punch-list and install days sit on Today in driving order.
Review requests. Every finished job gets the review ask once the invoice is paid.
Which software companies list carpentry work
We read the industries pages of the companies we compare on koira.ai and noted which ones name this trade. Jobber, Housecall Pro and Joist are in the tables below.
- Jobber names it as Carpentry. Read on Jobber industries.
- Housecall Pro names it as Carpentry business software. Read on Housecall Pro industries.
- Service Fusion names it as Carpentry. Read on Service Fusion industries menu.
- Joist names it as Carpentry estimating and invoicing software. Read on Joist carpentry page.
Read on October 9, 2026 from each company's own page. A company not named here may still serve carpenters; it just does not name the trade on that page, so ask.
What to compare
The features that matter most to a carpentry business, and where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets. It is not a full feature list for anyone, including us.
| What you need | Koira | Jobber | Housecall Pro | Joist |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Estimates | Office (free) | Core | Basic | Basics (5 documents a month), Pro (unlimited) |
| Invoices in stages | Deposit, midpoint and final invoices | Core (progress invoicing) | Not listed | Basics (milestone payments) |
| Automatic estimate follow-ups | Grow, on day two and day four, then it stops | Connect | Pipeline, listed as a separate product | Not listed |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Basics (deposit and milestone payments) |
| Stops sorted by the drive | Office (stops sorted by the drive) | Connect | Essentials (routes), Max (route optimization) | Not listed |
| Review requests | Office (free) | Not listed | Basic (review management) | Elite (Joist Reviews) |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | $29 a month each | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | Not published |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None on the pricing page | None on the pricing page | None on the pricing page |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | 3.49% + 49¢ online, 2.79% + 49¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (capped at $15) |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed | AI Receptionist from $49 a month |
From Jobber pricing, Housecall Pro pricing and Joist pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons. Koira has no per-person fee on any plan, and Office costs nothing a month.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Jobber | ||||
| Core | $49 a month | $29 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Connect | $139 a month for 1 user, $199 for 5 | $99 a month for 1 user, $149 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Grow | $199 a month for 1 user, $299 for 5 | $149 a month for 1 user, $229 for 5, billed yearly | 1, 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Plus | $499 a month for 5 users | $399 a month for 5 users, billed yearly | 5, 10 or 15 users | None on the pricing page |
| Housecall Pro | ||||
| Basic | $79 a month | $59 a month billed yearly | 1 user | None on the pricing page |
| Essentials | $189 a month | $149 a month billed yearly | 5 users | None on the pricing page |
| Max | $329 a month | $299 a month billed yearly | 8 users | None on the pricing page |
| Joist | ||||
| Basics | $10 a month | $8.34 a month billed yearly | Not stated | Up to 5 documents a month |
| Pro | $17 a month | $14.17 a month billed yearly | Not stated | None on the pricing page |
| Elite | $32 a month | $26.67 a month billed yearly | Not stated | None on the pricing page |
| Run | $70 a month (introductory, $100 regular) | $58.33 a month billed yearly | Not stated | None on the pricing page |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Jobber | $29 a month each | 2.9% + 30¢ online, 2.7% + 30¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (ACH) | Receptionist $29, Pipeline $49, Marketing Suite $99 a month (all three in Plus) |
| Housecall Pro | $35 a month each on Max; on Basic and Essentials, move up a plan | From 2.59% a card payment, 1% bank payments | CSR AI, Pipeline, Campaigns, Voice, Websites and Tap to Pay, sold separately, no price listed |
| Joist | Not published | 3.49% + 49¢ online, 2.79% + 49¢ Tap to Pay, 1% bank (capped at $15) | AI Receptionist from $49 a month |
From Jobber pricing, Housecall Pro pricing and Joist pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Jobber's pricing page blocks a plain fetch and changes its prices with a team size picker, so we read it in a real browser. The $29 a month per added user is in the note behind each plan's user count. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them (also Joist Payments), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
How to choose
If estimates eat your evenings, start with the photo draft. If cabinet jobs strain cash, start with staged invoices. Both are on Office, the free plan; automatic follow-ups are on Grow.
If most of your work is subcontract framing for builders with schedules of values, a construction tool may fit better.
Whichever you try, put one real week of carpentry jobs through it before you commit. Koira's Office plan is free with no time limit: start on Office, free, or see every plan on the pricing page. The others offer free trials or demos, so ask.
Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Jobber pricing, Jobber industries, Housecall Pro pricing, Housecall Pro industries, Joist pricing, Joist Payments (checked October 9, 2026), Stripe pricing (checked October 9, 2026), Service Fusion industries menu (checked October 9, 2026), Joist carpentry page (checked October 9, 2026), and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
