- For a security installer, the features that decide the software are price book, options on one estimate and recurring service plans.
- Koira covers that list on Front Office ($499 flat), with no per-person fee.
- 7 companies we checked name this trade on their own site: ServiceTitan, Workiz, Service Fusion, Kickserv, GorillaDesk, FieldPulse and QuoteIQ.
- Prices and card rates for Workiz, GorillaDesk and FieldPulse are from each company's own pages, checked October 8, 2026.
What a security installer needs from software
A security install is quoted device by device. The customer wants cameras on the driveway and the back door, a doorbell, maybe sensors on the windows, and the quote is a count of each with the cable runs to connect them.
The install is the first sale; the service plan is the business. Installers who sell a plan with every system, and bill it without chasing, build the monthly income that carries the slow months.
- Price book. Cameras, sensors, doorbells and cable runs are priced per device, and the same price every time keeps quotes honest.
- Options on one estimate. Four cameras, six or eight is a choice the customer makes better with three prices side by side.
- Recurring service plans. Service plans and yearly system checks are the steady money in this trade.
- Deposits at signing. Cameras and panels are bought before the install, and that should be the customer's money.
- Paid on the spot. The balance is best collected at the walkthrough, before you leave.
- Calls answered by AI. A system that stopped working is an urgent call, and new installs come in while you are in an attic pulling cable.
The jobs on a security estimate
These are the lines on a security install estimate, from the price list in our free security estimate template.
| Job line | Priced by | What the line says |
|---|---|---|
| Camera, supplied and installed | each | Type, resolution and mounting location. |
| Network video recorder | each | Channels and storage size. |
| Cable run, Cat6 | ft | Attic, wall fish or exterior; jacks and labels. |
| Alarm panel and keypad | each | Brand, zones and communicator. |
| Door and window sensors | each | Wired or wireless, per opening. |
| Motion detector | each | Pet-immune where needed. |
| Video doorbell | each | Wired to the chime or battery. |
| Smart lock | each | Door prep and app setup. |
| Network switch with PoE | each | Ports and power budget. |
| App setup and owner training | hour | Phones set up and the owner shown how to use it. |
In Koira these go on your price list once. Every estimate, instant price and invoice pulls from it, so a security installer never types the same line twice, and Koira never writes a number that is not in your records.
A plain checklist for security software
- Per-device prices from your price list
- Good, better, best by camera count
- Deposit at signing for the equipment
- Service plans billed monthly on the card
- The yearly check booked on its own
- Paid at the walkthrough
- Calls answered while you pull cable
- Builders and property managers reached
How Koira covers the list
Price book. Each camera, sensor or cable run is a line on your price list, and every estimate pulls from it. That is on Office, the free plan.
Options on one estimate. Good, better and best by device count go on one estimate, signed and paid on one page.
Recurring service plans. On Front Office, maintenance plans bill monthly on the card on file and book the yearly system check.
Deposits at signing. Deposit at signing, so the equipment is covered.
Paid on the spot. Pay at the door collects the balance and texts the receipt.
Calls answered by AI. On Grow, Koira answers every call and texts back any it cannot finish.
Which software companies list security work
We read the industries pages of the companies we compare on koira.ai and noted which ones name this trade. Workiz, GorillaDesk and FieldPulse are in the tables below.
- ServiceTitan names it as Alarm Business Software. Read on ServiceTitan industries.
- Workiz names it as Alarm And Security. Read on Workiz industries.
- Service Fusion names it as Alarm. Read on Service Fusion industries menu.
- Kickserv names it as Home Security. Read on Kickserv industries.
- GorillaDesk names it as Alarm Installation (and Security Installation). Read on GorillaDesk industries.
- FieldPulse names it as Fire and Security. Read on FieldPulse fire and security.
- QuoteIQ names it as Security Camera Installation. Read on QuoteIQ industries.
Read on October 9, 2026 from each company's own page. A company not named here may still serve security and alarm installers; it just does not name the trade on that page, so ask.
What to compare
The features that matter most to a security installer, and where each first appears on each company's public pricing page, then the people, usage, card and add-on rows every company gets. It is not a full feature list for anyone, including us.
| What you need | Koira | Workiz | GorillaDesk | FieldPulse |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price book | Office (your price list) | Standard (price book), Ultimate (flat rate) | Not listed | Pricebook, a premium product |
| Options on one estimate | Office, up to three | Ultimate (sales proposals) | Growth (dynamic estimates and packages) | Not listed |
| Recurring service plans | Front Office | Ultimate (service plans) | Pro (subscription billing) | Core platform (maintenance agreements) |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Standard (estimate deposits) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Paid on the spot | Office, QR code at the door, 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 0.5% to 2% (Koira) a payment | Standard | Not listed | Not listed |
| Calls answered by AI | Grow | Genius Answering, sold separately | AI agents in its menu, not on a plan card | Operator AI, a premium product |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not published | Admin users free; each added route raises the price | Priced per seat, on request |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | Not published | Texting $5 a month plus message credits, $50 for 1,000 | Engage phone lines and licenses, priced on request |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | Not published; Workiz Pay is on every plan | Not published; your own Stripe or Square account's rate | Not published; FieldPulse Payments is an optional product |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Genius phone, answering and marketing, sold separately, priced on request | Texting $5 a month plus message credits | Engage, Operator AI, Chat AI, Pricebook, Payments, Financing, Fleet Tracking, Custom Forms, priced on request |
From Workiz pricing and GorillaDesk pricing, checked October 8, 2026; FieldPulse pricing, checked October 9, 2026. GorillaDesk prices by route with a slider that fills in by script, so we read each route count in a real browser. FieldPulse's pricing page fills in by script, so we read it in a real browser. It shows no prices. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons. Koira has no per-person fee on any plan, and Office costs nothing a month.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Workiz | ||||
| Standard | Not published, priced on request | Not published; the page says yearly saves $400 or more | Not stated | Not published |
| Pro | Not published, priced on request | Not published; the page says yearly saves $400 or more | Not stated | Not published |
| Ultimate | Not published, priced on request | Not published; the page says yearly saves $400 or more | Not stated | Not published |
| GorillaDesk | ||||
| Basic | $49 a month for 1 route, $99 for 2, $149 for 3 | $539 a year for 1 route | Unlimited admin users and devices | Texting $5 a month plus message credits, $50 for 1,000 |
| Pro | $99 a month for 1 route, $149 for 2, $199 for 3 | $1,089 a year for 1 route | Unlimited admin users and devices | Texting $5 a month plus message credits, $50 for 1,000 |
| Growth | $149 a month for 1 route, $249 for 2, $299 for 3 | $1,639 a year for 1 route | Unlimited admin users and devices | Texting $5 a month plus message credits, $50 for 1,000 |
| FieldPulse | ||||
| Custom quote | Not published, quoted per seat | Not published | Office seats and field seats | Engage phone lines and licenses, priced on request |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Workiz | Not published | Not published; Workiz Pay is on every plan | Genius phone, answering and marketing, sold separately, priced on request |
| GorillaDesk | Admin users free; each added route raises the price | Not published; your own Stripe or Square account's rate | Texting $5 a month plus message credits |
| FieldPulse | Priced per seat, on request | Not published; FieldPulse Payments is an optional product | Engage, Operator AI, Chat AI, Pricebook, Payments, Financing, Fleet Tracking, Custom Forms, priced on request |
From Workiz pricing and GorillaDesk pricing, checked October 8, 2026; FieldPulse pricing, checked October 9, 2026. GorillaDesk prices by route with a slider that fills in by script, so we read each route count in a real browser. FieldPulse's pricing page fills in by script, so we read it in a real browser. It shows no prices. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them, checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
How to choose
Some alarm company software is built around monitoring accounts, which Koira does not handle. If you install and service systems and leave monitoring to a partner, Koira covers the office: per-device quotes and deposits on Office, the free plan, and service plans on Front Office at $499 flat with no per-person fee.
Whichever you try, put one real week of security jobs through it before you commit. Koira's Office plan is free with no time limit: start on Office, free, or see every plan on the pricing page. The others offer free trials or demos, so ask.
Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Workiz pricing, GorillaDesk pricing, FieldPulse pricing (checked October 9, 2026), Stripe pricing (checked October 9, 2026), ServiceTitan industries (checked October 9, 2026), Workiz industries (checked October 9, 2026), Service Fusion industries menu (checked October 9, 2026), Kickserv industries (checked October 9, 2026), GorillaDesk industries (checked October 9, 2026), FieldPulse fire and security (checked October 9, 2026), QuoteIQ industries (checked October 9, 2026), and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
