Joist vs Housecall Pro

Joist is for the contractor whose software is mostly estimates and invoices. Housecall Pro is for the shop that also books, dispatches and routes.

6 min readPrices checked October 8, 2026
Carpenter's tool belt
Key takeaways
  • Joist Pro is $17 a month; Housecall Pro Basic is $79, or $59 billed yearly.
  • Both list homeowner or consumer financing on their first plan.
  • Housecall Pro has online booking, dispatch and review management on Basic.
  • Joist adds change orders on Elite and scheduling on Run.

Joist vs Housecall Pro at a glance

A remodeler who sends six estimates a month and a plumber who runs eight calls a day need different software. Joist fits the first; Housecall Pro is built for the second. Both list financing on their first plan, so the decision is about everything else.

JoistHousecall Pro
Built forSolo contractors who mainly need estimates, invoices and paymentsHome service businesses from solo operators to teams of eight and more
Published pricesBasics $10 a month, Pro $17, Elite $32, Run $70 (an introductory price, $100 regular)Basic $79 a month, Essentials $189, Max $329, or $59, $149 and $299 billed yearly
Lowest published price$10 a month$79 a month
Free trial14 days, no credit card14 days on the Max plan, no credit card
PeopleThe pricing page does not list a per-user priceBasic 1 user, Essentials 5, Max 8, then $35 a month for each added user on Max
BillingMonthly or yearly (two months free); change or cancel any timeMonthly or yearly billing; the page says cancel anytime

From Joist pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.

What each one costs

Joist

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyPeopleWhat the card lists
Basics$10 a month$8.34 a month billed yearlyNot statedUp to 5 documents a month, online payments, estimates to invoices, AI tools, homeowner financing
Pro$17 a month$14.17 a month billed yearlyNot statedAdds unlimited documents, your logo, photos, client activity, QuickBooks sync, expense tracking
Elite$32 a month$26.67 a month billed yearlyNot statedAdds license and insurance on documents, change orders, business reports, Joist Reviews
Run$70 a month (introductory, $100 regular)$58.33 a month billed yearlyNot statedAdds jobs, scheduled visits, and jobs linked to estimates and invoices

Housecall Pro

PlanMonthlyBilled yearlyPeopleWhat the card lists
Basic$79 a month$59 a month billed yearly1 userOnline booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoices, payments and consumer financing, price book, job costing, review management
Essentials$189 a month$149 a month billed yearly5 usersAdds routes, flat-rate pricing, checklists, photo reports, employee GPS, commissions, QuickBooks Online sync
Max$329 a month$299 a month billed yearly8 users, then $35 a month eachAdds the sales proposal tool, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API, a dedicated onboarding specialist

From Joist pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.

Feature by feature

What you needJoistHousecall Pro
Win the job
Customers book onlineNot listedBasic
EstimatesBasics (5 documents a month), Pro (unlimited)Basic
E-signaturesBasicsNot listed
Customer financingBasics (homeowner financing)Basic (consumer financing)
Calls answered by AIAI Receptionist add-on, from $49 a monthCSR AI, listed as a separate product
Get paid
Invoices and online paymentsBasicsBasic
Deposits at signingBasics (deposit and milestone payments)Not listed
Paid on the spotBasicsTap to Pay, listed as a separate product
QuickBooks Online syncProEssentials
Run the work
Crew schedulingRun (schedule visits)Basic (schedule and assign techs)
Stops sorted by the driveNot listedEssentials (routes), Max (route optimization)
Review requestsElite (Joist Reviews)Basic (review management)

From Joist pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.

Where Joist is the stronger pick

The price. Joist runs $10 to $70 a month. Pro, with unlimited estimates and invoices, QuickBooks sync and expense tracking, is $17.

Deposits and milestones. Deposit and milestone payments and Tap to Pay are on every Joist plan; Housecall Pro lists Tap to Pay as a separate product.

Change orders. Joist Elite adds change orders and license and insurance details on documents.

Where Housecall Pro is the stronger pick

Booking and dispatch. Online booking and scheduling and dispatch are on Housecall Pro Basic. Joist adds scheduling only on Run.

Routes and recurring plans. Routes come in on Essentials and recurring service plans on Max. Neither is on Joist's plan table.

Phone support. Live phone and chat support is on every Housecall Pro plan; Joist lists email and live chat.

What a 1 to 3 person shop would pay

For one person the gap is large: Joist Pro against Housecall Pro Basic. Joist's page does not list a per-user price, so check with Joist before adding people.

TeamJoist ProHousecall Pro Basic
1 person$17 a month
Pro; the page does not list a price per user
$79 a month
Basic, 1 user included
3 people$17 a month
Pro; the page does not list a price per user
$189 a month
Essentials, the first plan with room for 3 people

From Joist pricing and Housecall Pro pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Monthly billing, before card fees and add-ons. Joist's monthly prices fill in by script, so we read them in a real browser. Its newest plan, Run, was at an introductory 30% off when we checked. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.

Where Koira fits

Koira's free Office plan covers the estimate side (up to three options, signature and deposit on one page) plus invoices, card payments, a booking site and the day plan. Grow adds the AI receptionist at $249 a month plus usage at cost.

If you only need estimates and invoices at the lowest price, Joist is hard to beat. If you dispatch several techs, Housecall Pro is built for it.

How to choose

If you can count your monthly estimates on two hands and you do not book visits online, try Joist. If customers book online and techs need a schedule, try Housecall Pro.

Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Joist pricing, Housecall Pro pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.

FAQ

Is Joist good for plumbers?

Joist lists plumbing among its industries, and it handles estimates, invoices and payments well. Scheduling comes only on its Run plan, so a call-driven plumber may want a tool with booking and dispatch on the first plan.

How much does Housecall Pro cost compared with Joist?

Housecall Pro is $79, $189 and $329 a month on monthly billing; Joist is $10, $17, $32 and $70 (introductory), checked October 8, 2026.

Do both offer financing?

Yes. Joist lists homeowner financing on every plan; Housecall Pro lists consumer financing on Basic.

Which has a free trial?

Both: 14 days with no credit card. Housecall Pro's runs on Max; Joist's covers its Run features.

We know what works. Leave it to Koira.

☼⚙
Standard⚡ Turbo
● Koira did it● You by hand
Today $9,300$8,100 / $1,200
This week $25,050$18,570 / $6,480
This month $69,300$46,150 / $23,150
Money, just now
Reminded Sean Love, $1,850. Polite reminder with the pay link.
Bids, 9:44 am
Nudged Dana on the kitchen bid. Day 3 follow up. She opened it at 9:12.
Convos, 9:41 am
Texted back a missed call. Walk through booked Thu 10:00.
Joist vs Housecall Pro: Estimates or Everything (2026) | Koira