- Yardbook: Free, paid for by sponsored ads; premium Business and Enterprise plans exist, with no prices on the pages we read.
- On card payments, Yardbook: Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise. Koira: 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira).
- Koira's Office plan is free with no per-person fee; Grow is $249 a month plus usage at cost.
- Every Yardbook fact here is from its own pages, checked October 9, 2026.
Why contractors look past Yardbook
Yardbook is free. It says it uses a sponsored ad model, which lets landscapers run invoicing, scheduling and route optimization without a subscription. That makes it a common first tool for a new lawn business.
The cost shows up in payments: its terms say a free account pays Stripe's transaction fees plus a 1% Yardbook processing fee on each online payment, waived on the paid Business and Enterprise plans. Owners also look further when they want customers to book themselves, an instant price on their site, or calls answered while they mow.
Yardbook, Koira and two others at a glance
Who each one is for, what it costs, and what it charges on a card payment, in the same rows for every company.
| Koira | Yardbook | Service Autopilot | Markate | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Owner-run trade businesses, from one person to a few crews | Landscaping and lawn care businesses | Lawn care, landscaping, snow removal, cleaning, pest control and pool companies with routes | Owner operators and small teams in cleaning, home improvement, seasonal and maintenance trades |
| Published prices | Office free; Grow $249 a month plus usage at cost; Front Office $499 flat | Free, paid for by sponsored ads; premium Business and Enterprise plans exist, with no prices on the pages we read | Startup $49 a month, Pro $199, Pro Plus $499, each plus a sign-up fee, at yearly rates; Elite on request | $49.95 a month for the owner ($45.95 billed yearly), plus $5 a month per employee, with paid add-ons |
| Free plan or trial | Office is free with no time limit | The free plan does not end; premium trials run 30 or 60 days, its terms say | A free trial is offered; the length is not stated | 14 days, no credit card |
| People | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not stated on the pages we read | Licenses by plan: 1 business user and 1 to 5 mobile licenses, Elite 2 and 8 | The owner is included; each employee is $5 a month |
| Contract | Monthly, no contract | Premium plans renew on a subscription; the terms say prices may change | Prices are yearly subscription rates; downgrade at the end of the contract | Monthly, or 8% off billed yearly ($551.40 a year) |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Not published on its pricing page | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Feature by feature
Where each feature first appears on each company's public pricing page. It is not a full feature list for anyone, including us.
| What you need | Koira | Yardbook | Service Autopilot | Markate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Invoices and online payments | Office (free) | Free | Startup (integrated payments) | Listed (Square payments) |
| Stops sorted by the drive | Office (stops sorted by the drive) | Free (route optimization) | Pro (route optimization) | Not listed |
| Customers book online | Office (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Online booking add-on, $10 a month |
| Estimates | Office (free) | Not listed | Quotes and proposals listed, plan not clear | Listed (standard, option or package estimates) |
| Recurring service plans | Front Office | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Day-before reminders | Office, the day before | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Paid on the spot | Office, QR code at the door, 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 0.5% to 2% (Koira) a payment | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Review requests | Office (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Review ask add-on, $10 a month |
| Calls answered by AI | Grow | Not listed | Not listed | Kate AI receptionist, $1 a call |
| Seasonal email and text campaigns | Grow | Not listed | Not listed | SMS and email blasts, paid per message |
| Measuring from above | Office (roofs, lawns, driveways) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Website | Office (free), your own domain on Grow | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not published | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | $5 a month per employee |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | None stated | None on the pricing page | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Not published on its pricing page | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What Yardbook does well
- It is free, paid for by sponsored ads, so a new lawn business can start at no cost.
- Invoicing, scheduling and route optimization are part of the free product.
- It is built for landscaping and lawn care.
Things to know
- Online payments carry Stripe's fees plus a 1% Yardbook fee on free accounts.
- Premium plan prices are not on the pages we could read.
- The free product is supported by ads.
Where Koira fits for Yardbook users
Koira's Office plan is free too, without ads: a website with a price on it, a lawn measured from above for the first number, online booking, stops sorted by the drive, and a QR code to get paid at the door. Review asks go out after every paid job.
Grow, $249 a month plus usage at cost, adds the receptionist and text-back on a Koira number and seasonal campaigns to past customers. Maintenance plans billed on the card on file are on Front Office, $499 flat. Koira's card share is 2% on Office on top of Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢, and it drops to 1% on Grow and 0.5% on Front Office.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons. Koira has no per-person fee on any plan, and Office costs nothing a month.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Yardbook | ||||
| Free | $0 | $0 | Not stated | None stated |
| Business and Enterprise | Not published | Not published | Not stated | None stated |
| Service Autopilot | ||||
| Startup | $49 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 1 mobile license | None on the pricing page |
| Pro | $199 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 2 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Pro Plus | $499 a month plus a sign-up fee | Yearly rate | 1 business user, 5 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Elite | Priced on request | Priced on request | 2 business users, 8 mobile licenses | None on the pricing page |
| Markate | ||||
| Owner Operator | $49.95 a month | $45.95 a month ($551.40 a year) | The owner | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
| Team | $49.95 plus $5 a month per employee | $45.95 plus $5 a month per employee | The owner plus employees | Kate AI receptionist $1 a call; texts 5 or 10 cents each; email $10 per 2,000 |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Yardbook | Not published | Stripe's fees plus 1% to Yardbook on free accounts; the 1% is waived on Business and Enterprise | Business and Enterprise premium plans, prices not published |
| Service Autopilot | Added app licenses through its team, no price listed | Not published on its pricing page | Two-way texting, QuickBooks sync, client portal, Smart Maps, email integration, GPS, all call for pricing |
| Markate | $5 a month per employee | Not published; payments run through Square at Square's rate | Most extras $10 a month each (online booking, portal, review asks, phone number); API $50 |
From Yardbook, Service Autopilot pricing and Markate pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Yardbook's pages block a plain fetch, so we read them in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them (also Yardbook terms), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
When to stay with Yardbook
If you only need free invoicing and a route, Yardbook does that at no monthly cost. Compare the 1% on payments with what you would pay elsewhere at your volume.
Whichever you try, put one real week of jobs through it before you switch. Koira's Office plan is free, so you can run it next to Yardbook while you decide.
Sources, each checked October 9, 2026: Yardbook, Yardbook terms, Service Autopilot pricing, Markate pricing, Stripe pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
