- Handoff: Flex $119 a month billed yearly ($149 without the yearly saving), Pro $239 ($299), Scale $719 ($899).
- On card payments, Handoff: 3.35% on Flex, 2.85% on Pro and Scale, paid by your client; ACH 1% ($10 cap), paid by your client. Koira: 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira).
- Koira's Office plan is free with no per-person fee; Grow is $249 a month plus usage at cost.
- Every Handoff fact here is from its own pages, checked October 9, 2026.
Why contractors look past Handoff
Handoff turns voice notes, photos and files into an estimate priced from your catalog. Flex is $119 a month billed yearly ($149 without the yearly saving) with 2 users and 50 AI credits a month. Pro is $239 ($299) with 5 users and unlimited credits, and Scale is $719 ($899) with AI takeoffs from plans. Pro and Scale need a 12 month commitment.
Its card fees are passed to your client by default: 3.35% on Flex and 2.85% on Pro and Scale. Some owners want a free way to try AI estimates, or want the phone answered and the calendar filled as well as the estimate written.
Handoff, Koira and two others at a glance
Who each one is for, what it costs, and what it charges on a card payment, in the same rows for every company.
| Koira | Handoff | JobTread | Houzz Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Owner-run trade businesses, from one person to a few crews | Remodelers, home builders and trade contractors who want AI to write estimates | Home builders, remodelers, roofers and specialty contractors who manage jobs with budgets | Remodelers, builders, interior designers and architects selling design-heavy projects |
| Published prices | Office free; Grow $249 a month plus usage at cost; Front Office $499 flat | Flex $119 a month billed yearly ($149 without the yearly saving), Pro $239 ($299), Scale $719 ($899) | $199 a month with one internal user, plus $20 a month for each added internal user | A free basic plan, then Design $99 a month, Pro $199, and Teams from $399 with unlimited users |
| Free plan or trial | Office is free with no time limit | 7 days free on Flex | No free trial listed; a 30 day money-back guarantee on the monthly plan | 30 days free, then the subscription is yearly, as its FAQ says |
| People | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Flex 2 users, Pro 5, Scale 5 or more | 1 internal user included, then $20 a month each for users 2 to 10, less in bigger tiers; customer, vendor and some field users are free | 1 seat on Design and Pro, then $50 a month per added user; Teams has unlimited users |
| Contract | Monthly, no contract | Pro and Scale need a 12 month commitment; yearly billing saves 20% | No contract and no setup fees; 20% off on a yearly subscription | Its FAQ says the yearly subscription begins when the 30 day trial ends |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | 3.35% on Flex, 2.85% on Pro and Scale, paid by your client; ACH 1% ($10 cap), paid by your client | 2.95% + 30¢ a card, ACH $1 plus 1% (capped at $15) | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page |
From Handoff pricing, JobTread pricing and Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Feature by feature
Where each feature first appears on each company's public pricing page. It is not a full feature list for anyone, including us.
| What you need | Koira | Handoff | JobTread | Houzz Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Estimates | Office (free) | Flex (AI estimates) | Included (estimating) | Free (estimates) |
| Options on one estimate | Office, up to three | Scale (up to 5 estimate options) | Not listed | Not listed |
| E-signatures | Office (free) | Flex (digital signatures) | Included (contracts and e-signatures) | Pro (contracts) |
| Deposits at signing | Office, at signing | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Invoices in stages | Deposit, midpoint and final invoices | Flex (milestone invoicing) | Not listed | Not listed |
| Customer financing | On the pay page, every plan | Pro (client financing through Acorn Finance) | Included (homeowner financing) | Homeowner financing in its menu, not on a plan card |
| Price book | Office (your price list) | Flex, 1 pricing catalog | Included (cost catalog) | Not listed |
| Customer page or portal | Office (free) | AI client portal | Included (customer portals) | Client dashboard listed, plan not clear |
| Time tracking | Front Office | Pro | Included | Listed in its feature table, plan not clear |
| Automatic estimate follow-ups | Grow, on day two and day four, then it stops | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Calls answered by AI | Grow | Not listed | Not listed | Teams (Front Desk, in beta) |
| Instant price on your site | Office (free) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| People, usage and card fees | ||||
| Extra people | No per-person fee; one or fifteen people, the same price | Not published | $20 a month each (users 2 to 10), $15 (11 to 20), $10 (21 to 30), $5 after | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited |
| Usage or credits | None on Office, at cost on Grow, included on Front Office | AI usage credits: 50 a month on Flex, unlimited on Pro and Scale | None on the pricing page | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Card payments | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2%, 1% or 0.5% by plan (Koira) | 3.35% on Flex, 2.85% on Pro and Scale, paid by your client; ACH 1% ($10 cap), paid by your client | 2.95% + 30¢ a card, ACH $1 plus 1% (capped at $15) | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page |
| Add-ons | None; postcards are a flat price per card | None on the pricing page | None; the page says every feature is included | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Handoff pricing, JobTread pricing and Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
What Handoff does well
- AI builds the estimate from your voice notes, photos or files, priced from your catalog.
- Card and ACH fees are passed to your client by default, as its pricing page shows.
- Pro adds unlimited AI credits, client financing through Acorn Finance and time tracking.
- Scale reads residential plans up to 7,000 sq ft into a takeoff-backed estimate.
Things to know
- Pro and Scale need a 12 month commitment.
- Flex includes 50 AI credits a month and one pricing catalog.
- It is built for remodeling and project work, not for recurring service routes.
Where Koira fits for Handoff users
Koira drafts estimates from photos too, on Office, the free plan: snap the job and Koira drafts up to three options from your own price list. It never writes a number that is not in your records. The customer signs and pays the deposit on one page, and the stage invoices follow.
Grow, $249 a month plus usage at cost, adds the AI receptionist, text-back on a Koira number and automatic bid follow-ups. There is no commitment and no per-person fee.
What each one costs
Every plan in the same columns: price, people, usage, card rates and add-ons. Koira has no per-person fee on any plan, and Office costs nothing a month.
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People included | Usage or credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | ||||
| Office | $0, free | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | None charged on Office |
| Grow | $249 a month | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Texts, call minutes and emails at cost, nothing added |
| Front Office | $499 a month, flat | Monthly, no contract | One or fifteen, the same price | Included in the $499 |
| Handoff | ||||
| Flex | $149 a month | $119 a month billed yearly | 2 users | 50 AI credits a month |
| Pro | $299 a month, 12 month commitment | $239 a month billed yearly | 5 users | Unlimited AI credits |
| Scale | $899 a month, 12 month commitment | $719 a month billed yearly | 5 users or more | Unlimited AI credits |
| JobTread | ||||
| One plan | $199 a month | 20% off billed yearly | 1 internal user, unlimited customer and vendor portal users | None on the pricing page |
| Houzz Pro | ||||
| Free | $0 | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Not stated | Not stated |
| Design | $99 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Pro | $199 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | 1 user | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
| Teams | From $399 a month | Its FAQ says the subscription after the trial is yearly | Unlimited users | 3D model conversions: 5 a month on Design and Pro, unlimited on Teams (fair use 415) |
What comes on top: people, card payments and add-ons
| Company | Each extra person | Card payments | Add-ons |
|---|---|---|---|
| Koira | No per-person fee on any plan | 2.9% + 30¢ (Stripe) plus 2% on Office, 1% on Grow, 0.5% on Front Office (Koira); on Office that share replaces a monthly fee | None; postcards are a flat price per card |
| Handoff | Not published | 3.35% on Flex, 2.85% on Pro and Scale, paid by your client; ACH 1% ($10 cap), paid by your client | None on the pricing page |
| JobTread | $20 a month each (users 2 to 10), $15 (11 to 20), $10 (21 to 30), $5 after | 2.95% + 30¢ a card, ACH $1 plus 1% (capped at $15) | None; the page says every feature is included |
| Houzz Pro | $50 a month per user on Design and Pro; Teams unlimited | Not published; card, debit and ACH are accepted, with no rate on the pricing page | Advertising package from $499 a month |
From Handoff pricing, JobTread pricing and Houzz Pro pricing, checked October 9, 2026. Houzz Pro's pricing page blocks a plain fetch, so we read it in a real browser. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Prices change often, so check the page before you buy.
Card rates as each company publishes them (also JobTread online payments), checked October 9, 2026. Koira's is Stripe's 2.9% + 30¢ for a US card plus Koira's share, which pays for Office in place of a monthly fee.
When to stay with Handoff
Handoff is the stronger pick for takeoffs from residential plans, AI renderings, a subcontractor portal and budget tracking on bigger remodels. Koira does not do takeoffs from plans or renderings.
Whichever you try, put one real week of jobs through it before you switch. Koira's Office plan is free, so you can run it next to Handoff while you decide.
Sources, each checked October 9, 2026: Handoff pricing, JobTread pricing, JobTread online payments, Houzz Pro pricing, Stripe pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
