- Housecall Pro publishes Basic, Essentials and Max; Workiz asks you to request pricing.
- Both put booking, financing and a price book on their first plan.
- Workiz puts QuickBooks Online on Standard; Housecall Pro on Essentials.
- Recurring service plans are on Housecall Pro Max and Workiz Ultimate, each the top plan.
Housecall Pro vs Workiz at a glance
Housecall Pro and Workiz chase the same customer: a service company where the phone rings and techs roll. Both list HVAC, plumbing and electrical among their trades, both keep AI call answering as a separate product, and both put their recurring service plans on the top plan.
So the choice usually comes down to three things: whether you want to see prices up front, where QuickBooks sits, and how much support you want.
| Housecall Pro | Workiz | |
|---|---|---|
| Built for | Home service businesses from solo operators to teams of eight and more | Field service teams; its industry list leads with HVAC, plumbing, electrical, garage door, locksmith and appliance repair |
| Published prices | Basic $79 a month, Essentials $189, Max $329, or $59, $149 and $299 billed yearly | Three plans, Standard, Pro and Ultimate, all priced on request |
| Lowest published price | $79 a month | Priced on request |
| Free trial | 14 days on the Max plan, no credit card | 7 days, no credit card |
| People | Basic 1 user, Essentials 5, Max 8, then $35 a month for each added user on Max | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Billing | Monthly or yearly billing; the page says cancel anytime | Monthly or yearly; the page says yearly saves $400 or more |
From Housecall Pro pricing and Workiz pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.
What each one costs
Housecall Pro
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People | What the card lists |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $79 a month | $59 a month billed yearly | 1 user | Online booking, scheduling and dispatch, estimates and invoices, payments and consumer financing, price book, job costing, review management |
| Essentials | $189 a month | $149 a month billed yearly | 5 users | Adds routes, flat-rate pricing, checklists, photo reports, employee GPS, commissions, QuickBooks Online sync |
| Max | $329 a month | $299 a month billed yearly | 8 users, then $35 a month each | Adds the sales proposal tool, recurring service plans, route optimization, open API, a dedicated onboarding specialist |
Workiz
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | People | What the card lists |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Not published, priced on request | – | Not stated | Scheduling, jobs, estimates and invoices, 5 automations, online payments, service areas, reports, QuickBooks |
| Pro | Not published, priced on request | – | Not stated | Adds performance pay, 10 automations, Genius leads and scheduling, custom reports, roles and permissions |
| Ultimate | Not published, priced on request | – | Not stated | Adds service plans, 30 automations, sales proposals, inventory, flat rate, checklists, multi-day jobs, open API |
From Housecall Pro pricing and Workiz pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.
Feature by feature
| What you need | Housecall Pro | Workiz |
|---|---|---|
| Win the job | ||
| Customers book online | Basic | Standard (online booking with optional checkout) |
| Options on one estimate | Max (sales proposal tool) | Ultimate (sales proposals) |
| Calls answered by AI | CSR AI, listed as a separate product | Genius Answering, sold separately |
| Customer financing | Basic (consumer financing) | Standard (consumer financing) |
| Review requests | Basic (review management) | Reputation Manager, part of Genius Marketing, sold separately |
| Get paid | ||
| Invoices and online payments | Basic | Standard |
| Paid on the spot | Tap to Pay, listed as a separate product | Standard |
| QuickBooks Online sync | Essentials | Standard (QuickBooks Online sync) |
| Price book | Basic (price book), Essentials (flat-rate pricing) | Standard (price book), Ultimate (flat rate) |
| Run the work | ||
| Stops sorted by the drive | Essentials (routes), Max (route optimization) | Not listed |
| Recurring service plans | Max (recurring service plans) | Ultimate (service plans) |
| Customer page or portal | Not listed | Standard (client portal) |
| Seasonal email and text campaigns | Campaigns, listed as a separate product | Genius Marketing, sold separately |
From Housecall Pro pricing and Workiz pricing, checked October 8, 2026. A cell names the lowest plan that lists the feature; "Not listed" means we did not see it, so ask. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.
Where Housecall Pro is the stronger pick
Prices you can read. Basic is $79 a month for one user, Essentials $189 for five and Max $329 for eight, per Housecall Pro's pricing page.
Support on every plan. Live phone and chat support is included on every Housecall Pro plan, and Max adds a dedicated onboarding specialist.
Job costing and reviews from day one. Job costing and review management are on Basic. Workiz sells its Reputation Manager inside Genius Marketing.
A longer trial. 14 days on Max, against Workiz's 7.
Where Workiz is the stronger pick
QuickBooks on the first plan. Workiz Standard lists QuickBooks Online sync; Housecall Pro adds it on Essentials.
Tap to Pay and a client portal included. Both are on Workiz Standard. Housecall Pro lists Tap to Pay as a separate product.
Growing into inventory and franchises. Workiz Ultimate adds inventory, checklists, multi-day jobs and franchise management.
What a 1 to 3 person shop would pay
Housecall Pro's cost for one and three people comes off its plan cards. Workiz quotes on request, and says yearly billing saves $400 or more.
| Team | Housecall Pro Basic | Workiz |
|---|---|---|
| 1 person | $79 a month Basic, 1 user included | Priced on request |
| 3 people | $189 a month Essentials, the first plan with room for 3 people | Priced on request |
From Housecall Pro pricing and Workiz pricing, checked October 8, 2026. Monthly billing, before card fees and add-ons. Part of Housecall Pro's pricing page fills in by script and it was running first-month offers when we checked. The plan prices below are the regular ones its plan cards show. Prices are per month in US dollars and change often, so check the page before you buy.
Where Koira fits
Koira is built for the smaller end of this market: one to three people, no office. The Office plan is free; Grow ($249 a month plus usage at cost) adds AI call answering and text-back on a Koira number, so the answering is part of the plan rather than a separate product.
Koira does not do payroll, inventory or franchise tools. If those are on your list, Housecall Pro or Workiz is the better pick.
How to choose
Ask both for the full monthly total with the AI answering included, for your exact headcount. Then look at what sits on the plan you would buy, not the one above it.
Sources, each checked October 8, 2026: Housecall Pro pricing, Workiz pricing, and Koira pricing. We read each page's own text; we did not use summaries or third-party price lists.
